Bayville has built a new elementary school, increasing the town’s total to four schools—Addison, Beeks, Canfield, and Daley. Each has a capacity of 400 students. The school board wants to assign children to schools so that their travel time by bus is as short as possible. The school board has partitioned the town into five districts conforming to population density—north, south, east, west, and central. The average bus travel time from each district to each school is shown as follows:

Determine the number of children that should be assigned from each district to each school to minimize total student traveltime.

  • CreatedJuly 17, 2014
  • Files Included
Post your question