American Investor Group is opening an office in Portland, Oregon. Fixed monthly costs are office rent ($8,000), depreciation on office
1. Use the contribution margin ratio approach to compute American's breakeven revenue in dollars. If the average trade leads to $1,250 in revenue for American, how many trades must be made to break even?
2. Use the equation approach to compute the dollar revenues needed to earn a monthly target profit of $14,000.
3. Graph American's CVP relationships. Assume that an average trade leads to $1,250 in revenue for American. Show the breakeven point, the sales revenue line, the fixed cost line, the total cost line, the operating loss area, the operating income area, and the sales in units (trades) and dollars when monthly operating income of $14,000 is earned.
4. Suppose that the average revenue American earns increases to $2,500 per trade. Compute the new breakeven point in trades. How does this affect the breakeven point? Contribution Margin
Contribution margin is an important element of cost volume profit analysis that managers carry out to assess the maximum number of units that are required to be at the breakeven point. Contribution margin is the profit before fixed cost and taxes...
This problem has been solved!
Do you need an answer to a question different from the above? Ask your question!
Step by Step Answer:
Create a free account to access the answer
Cannot find your solution?
Post a FREE question now and get an answer within minutes. * Average response time.
Question Posted: June 15, 2015 07:45:23