From 1946 to 1990, the Big Ten Conference consisted of

From 1946 to 1990, the Big Ten Conference consisted of the University of Illinois, Indiana University, University of Iowa, University of Michigan, Michigan State University, University of Minnesota, Northwestern University, Ohio State University, Purdue University, and University of Wisconsin. In 1990, the conference added Pennsylvania State University. In 2011, the conference added the University of Nebraska. Even more recently, the University of Maryland and Rutgers University have been added to the conference with speculation of more schools being added in the future. The file BigTen contains much of the same information as the file FBS (see Problem 1's description), except that the variable values for the original ten individual schools in the Big Ten Conference have been replaced with the respective averages of these variables over these ten schools.
Apply hierarchical clustering with 2 clusters using football stadium capacity, latitude, longitude, endowment, and enrollment as variables. Be sure to Normalize input data in Step 2 of the XLMiner Hierarchical Clustering procedure. Use average group linkage as the clustering method. By referencing the HC_Output1 worksheet, which schools does the clustering suggest would have been the most appropriate to be the eleventh and twelfth schools in the Big Ten? The thirteenth and fourteenth? The fifteenth and sixteenth?


  • Access to 2 Million+ Textbook solutions
  • Ask any question from 24/7 available



Get help from Statistics Tutors
Ask questions directly from Qualified Online Statistics Tutors .
Best for online homework assistance.